Wood stove

The cool summers air surrounds me as I sit on the porch biding another day good bye. In the winds I smell the scent of a wood stove near by. How easily our senses are triggered, summer nights growing up. We were not of the air conditioner crowd! Summers were a windows open experience. Some times leading to a cool summers breeze. Other times you sat near the window praying for any breeze to cool the raging summer air. I can’t help but smile, a life time child of the wood stove. The times of cutting wood in the deepest of snow because we ran out before spring. Occasionally waking up chilled because the fire had gone out. The smell was such a part of you it was unnoticed till you were away from it for a while. The scent of a wood stove takes my thoughts and heart back to him. Wood stove and pipe tobacco, two smells that will always bring comfort and a tinge of sadness into my heart. Tonight in the moonlight I can see his smile. It was always a little mischievous, his deep blue eyes that sparkled so. The same eyes that could fire sparks if you misbehaved. Ironic isn’t it; summer evenings he would smoke his last cigarette and tell us all good night. Lock the doors ,shut off the lights and bid another day good bye. As I to put out my last smoke for the day , I turn to lock the doors and shut off the lights. I call to my children a good night and love you. For these few traits of his I mimic or carry I am grateful. I hope that I carry more than this in his likeness. Though little money he helped anyone who asked. He was kind yet strong ,a poor mans generous. As I lay down to sleep I am thankful for the blessing of a summers night. For memories and the tears and joy they bring. For the man I married and my father (passed on now almost 20 years), both strong amazing men. For my children ,one with the bluest of eyes, two with the generosity and fire in their hearts that would rival his. Closing my eyes I can only hope I live a life helping others as he did. Being the strength or comfort for others when needed. In the moonlight of a summers night and every day that the sun shines I am proud. Drifting to sleep, I bid another day good bye, proud to be my fathers daughter !
Land of Rose WordPress.com / barkyrose.blog.com

Leave a comment